Call us for help on

0800 lostpower or 0800 567 876


neil mackay

Neil Mackay - Chair

Neil has held a number of CEO and senior management roles in a wide variety of industries in New Zealand, UK, Hong Kong and Australia including power construction, manufacturing, sales and distribution, financial services, transport and the public service. He was the inaugural Chief Executive of Industry New Zealand a crown entity which was responsible for the development and implementation of strategies and programmes for industry and regional development.

Neil is an experienced Director and is currently an executive director of Green Chip Ltd which owns and supports technology companies to commercialise and scale up their business. He is also a Director of new technology companies including Injection moulding; polymer, metal and ceramics, and Water Security; water quality monitoring, risk management and water & waste water treatment.

Neil was appointed Director of Electra in 2007 and Chair in July 2016.

shelly mitchell jenkins

Shelly Mitchell-Jenkins

Shelly Mitchell-Jenkins (BBS FCA CMInstD) is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and Chartered Member of the NZ Institute of Directors.

Shelly is a Director of Colbert Cooper Limited, a chartered accountancy practice located in Levin, providing business, accountancy and tax services to clients throughout the region and across NZ. She is currently Chair of the Eastern and Central Community Trust and is a Trustee of Horowhenua based charitable trusts; Levin Charitable Trust and Horowhenua Scholarship Trust. Previously she has served as independent director of Oxford Finance Corporation Limited, elected District Councillor for the NZ Institute of Chartered Accountants, Trustee of the Life to the Max Horowhenua Trust, Trustee of Horowhenua Events Centre Trust and on the Board of Nature Coast.

Brought up in Whanganui and with a BBS from Massey University, Shelly worked for Audit NZ and the Office of the Auditor General before spending several years in Japan and then settling in Levin in 1996.

Shelly was appointed a Director of Electra in 2014 and is Chair of the Risk and Audit Committee.

chris dyhrberg

Chris Dyhrberg

Chris held a number of executive roles within Telecom New Zealand and Chorus New Zealand. He has experience across multiple disciplines including commercial, strategy, marketing, product management, industry and stakeholder management, engineering and infrastructure build and has worked in the ICT, health, education and electricity sectors.

Chris is a Business Consultant and also spends considerable time working on community projects and for not-for-profit organisations. He is a director of Swimming Wellington and trustee on the Kapiti College Board of Trustees.

Chris is a Member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand and was appointed a Director of Electra in 2014.

Alan McCauley2

Alan McCauley

Alan McCauley is a senior Executive with substantial experience in the Electricity Sector. He has held senior executive positions with Meridian Energy as General Manager Retail and Red Energy (in Victoria Australia) as General Manager Customer Management.

He currently has his own Management Consulting Business operating across NZ, Australia and Asia.

A competitive runner, Alan has competed in the World Masters Mountain Running Championships and has also been a Director on the Board of Athletics NZ and Athletics Victoria.

In his spare time he now enjoys running over the hills behind Kapiti.

Alan was appointed a Director of Electra in August 2016

John Boshier

John Boshier

John Boshier holds a number of governance positions after extensive general management experience in energy and engineering companies.

In addition to being on the Board of Electra, John is a director of two Crown entities. He was appointed by the Minister of Commerce to be a member of the Standards Approval Board in March 2016 and was appointed a member of the Accreditation Council in July 2014.
He is presently a Director of the Harkness Fellowships Trust Board, and a Trustee of the Engineering Foundation of Engineering New Zealand. He is also Principal of his own company, Boshier Consulting Ltd, and a Fellow of Engineering New Zealand.

Previously John was Executive Director of the National Generators Forum, the representative body for Australia’s electricity generators. For five years he was Chief Executive of Engineers Australia, the professional institution for all engineers.

Before moving to Australia in 1999, he was a General Manager in the Electricity Corporation of New Zealand, and Chief Executive of Capital Power, Wellington’s electricity retailer. He has also been Assistant Secretary of Energy in the New Zealand government.

His community involvement is through the Rotary Club of Wellington, where he is Trustee of the RCW Eureka Trust (which organises the Sir Paul Callaghan Awards each year) and Convenor of the Club’s Fundraising Committee.

John has published a number of technical papers in energy policy and engineering. Recently he was Project Director for the Centre for Advanced Engineering where he led a major project on improved decision-making for infrastructure investment.

John was appointed a Director of Electra in August 2016.

Mike Underhill

Mike Underhill

Mike Underhill has had a range of governance roles in the energy sector. He is currently a Director of Network Waitaki Ltd, and has just stepped down as chair of the Security and Reliability Council. Previous director roles have included TransAlta NZ, Citipower and EECA.

Mike has had extensive energy sector experience as a chief executive including EnergyDirect, WEL Networks, EECA and TransAlata. He is passionate about energy efficiency and renewable energy, and is a strong promoter of electric vehicles (he owns two).

He has a degree in electrical engineering, a master’s degree with honours in economics and has completed the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard.

Mike has strong family roots in the Horowhenua and he and his wife spent some years on Volunteer Service Abroad in Samoa.

Mike was appointed as a Director of Electra in August 2018.